Sandy Denny - I've Always Kept a Unicorn The Acoustic Sandy Denny (2016) FLAC Beolab1700

  • 13.06.2016, 16:16,
  • Music

Sandy Denny — I've Always Kept a Unicorn The Acoustic Sandy Denny (2016) FLAC Beolab1700

VA — I've Always Kept a Unicorn: The Acoustic Sandy Denny

Artist...............: Various Artists
Album................: I've Always Kept a Unicorn: The Acoustic Sandy Denny
Genre................: Folk
Beginning...............: CD
Year.................: 2016
Ripper...............: EAC (Closed fashion) / HANDICAPPED 3.92 & Asus CD-S520
Codec................: Immune From Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC)
Adaptation..............: credentials libFLAC 1.3.1 20141125
Quality..............: Lossless, (avg. compression: 34 %)
Channels.............: Stereo / 44100 HZ / 16 Bit
Tags.................: VorbisComment

Posted by............: Beolab1700 on 22/05/2016
Information..........: **thanks to Twil**

Posted by............: Beolab1700 on 20/05/2016


Disc: 1
1. Who Knows Where The Epoch Goes — Sandy Denny, Strawbs
2. You Never Wanted Me
3. Extract and Honey
4. Autopsy — Fairport Convention
5. Now And Then — Fairport Convention
6. She Moves Through The Satisfactory — Fairport Convention
7. Fotheringay — Fairport Convention
8. The Pond And The Creek — Fotheringay
9. Winter Winds — Fotheringay
10. Ruse Mountain Thyme — Fotheringay
11. The Lowlands Of Holland — Fotheringay
12. Melancholy Wilbur
13. The Optimist
14. Fresh November
15. The North Peerless Grassman And The Ravens
16. Next Epoch Around
17. John The Gun
18. Love's Made A Git Of You — The Bunch
19. When Will I Be Loved — The Bunch
20. Wisdom The Victim — The Bunch

Disc: 2
1. Repose Quiet Down Joys Of Brotherhood
2. After Halloween
3. The Lady
4. Bushes And Briars
5. The Music Weaver
6. No End
7. Solo
8. Like An Old Fashioned Waltz
9. The Prince And Queen Mother Of England
10. Rising For The Moon
11. One More Chance
12. Sandy's Bother (Take Away The Weight)
13. What Is True?
14. Blackwaterside
15. No More Sad Refrains
16. Shapely Moon
17. I'm A Dreamer
18. By The Epoch It Gets Dark
19. One Way Donkey Ride
20. Moments


Released 38 years after her expiry and timed to correspond with her posthumous induction into the 2016 Transmit 2 Tribe Awards Lecture-Room of Prominence, I’ve Always Kept a Unicorn: The Acoustic Sandy Denny is much more than the conveniently-packaged soundtrack for nostalgia and reading (it bears the same dub as Mick Houghton’s 2015 biography) that it might appear to be.

Granted, there is little here that won’t already be in the solicitation of any dedicated fan – with the possible freak of three 1971 demos for The Bunch’s Escarpment On – but where this 40-pursue compilation really scores is in its sketch together of the best of her individual and acoustic recordings.

The three exclusives – ‘Love’s Made a Git of You’ (Buddy Holly/Bob Montgomery), ‘When Will I Be Loved’ (Phil Everly) and ‘Learning the Game’ (Buddy Holly) – aren’t, strictly speaking, individual versions: Richard Thompson and Trevor Lucas both give guitar parts but Sandy’s duet with Linda Thompson on ‘When Will I Be Loved’ is almost quality the evaluation of entr on its own and is an unexpected highlight.

The first CD opens with the bother that many might consider to be one of her very best, even self-defining, compositions, ‘Who Knows Where the Epoch Goes?’ – this is the adaptation she recorded with The Strawbs – remains one of the best. It’s followed by a twin of tunes (‘You Never Wanted Me’ and ‘Milk and Honey’) written by the efficacious Jackson C. Frank.

Sandy’s epoch with Fairport Congress is represented by a aggregate of nine tracks across the two CDs. The first CD contains two demos (‘Autopsy’ and ‘Now and Then’) and two acoustic masters (‘She Moves Through the Fair’ and ‘Fotheringay’), while the second disc’s contributions are all demos (‘The Prince and Queen Mother of England’, ‘Rising for the Moon’, ‘One More Chance’, ‘Sandy’s Bother (Take Away the Weight)’ and ‘What Is True’). The demo of ‘Autopsy’ captures a substantial doing but the sweetened multitracked harmonies on ‘Now And Then’ are another unexpected highlight.

The woefully underrated Fotheringay provender the beginning of four tracks: two demos (‘The Pond and the Stream’ and ‘Winter Winds’) and two energetic recordings for BBC transmit sessions (a splendorous take on Francis McPeake’s evergreen ‘Wild Mountain Thyme’ and ‘The Lowlands of Holland’). While these tracks fit purely within the project’s brief – as the PR notes say, to assemble “the best album that the fresh Sandy Denny never made” – it also means that assortment performances like ‘Nothing More’ weren’t unwed for grouping, as it seems that individual versions absolutely don’t prevail, as far as we know.

Nevertheless, it’s an admirably well-focused solicitation: more than half of the tracks are neat, individual Sandy Denny performances, recovered either from retreat and studio demos or energetic sessions and they are unquestionably the resolution of the album. The energetic versions of ‘Late November’, ‘John The Gun’, ‘No More Sad Refrains’ and, especially, ‘Solo’ are arguably as honourable as it gets with truly ‘solo Sandy’ recordings and precise highlights of this solicitation, in the first instance for their displays of Sandy’s second to none in harmony phrasing and rare cleverness to convey such a kitchen range and profundity of emotion.

The demos of ‘Quiet Joys of Brotherhood’ (with its accompaniment of what sounds like a harmonium drone), ‘No End’ and ‘One Way Donkey Ride’ are equally gripping, underlining the sense made by Mick Houghton in his extraordinary sleeve notes that the stirring force of Sandy’s energetic performances was too often distraught in the procedure of recording in the studio.

I’ve Always Kept A Unicorn: The Acoustic Sandy Denny is a compilation that will be welcomed by anyone who’s ever anticipation, to refer to Linda Thompson, “I so wish she had recorded a individual album”. Bringing together some of the best supplies available from such a extensive kitchen range of sources, it presents Sandy Denny’s consuming legacy in a way which is both gentlemanly yet revealing. It makes for compelling listening and offers new insights into the artistic processes and atypical genius of one of Britain’s best tribe musicians which is sure to to elongated-epoch fans and newcomers alike.


Related Torrents

torrent name size files age seed leech
335.87 MB 43 3 weeks 17 1
564.36 MB 45 2 weeks 9 1

Download torrent
1080p, 10bit, 1CD, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2CH, 320, 320kbps, 480p, 720p, AAC, AAC2, AC3, AC3-EVO, All, America, American, Anatomy, and, Android, avi, Bang, BBC, BDRip, Best, Big, BluRay, BrRip, DD5, Diaries, Discography, DTS, DUAL, dvd, DVDRip, ENG, English, ESPAÑOL, Esubs, ettv, eztv, First, FLAC, for, FRENCH, from, Games, Girls, Greatest, H264, HDRip, HDTV, HEVC, HEVC-PSA, Hindi, Hits, INTERNAL, iphone, IPOD, ITA, iTALiAN, iTunes, Last, Little, M4A, Man, mkv, Mod, Mp3, mp4, MP4-KTR, Music, MVGroup, New, NTSC, One, Out, PAL, PDTV, Picture, PLUS, Prime, PSP, PublicHD, rar, RARBG, rartv, REPACK, Rip, S01E01, S01E02, S01E03, S01E04, S01E05, S01E06, S01E07, S01E08, S02E01, S02E02, Scenes, Series, South, SPANISH, Split, sub, Subs, Tamil, the, Theory, Top, Trailer, USA, Vampire, Video, VOSTFR, War, Wars, WEB, WEB-DL, WEBRip, Wii, with, x264, x264-, x264-2HD, x264-DHD, X264-DIMENSION, x264-KILLERS, x264-LOL, x264-mSD, x264-W4F, x265, x265-MeGusta, x265-RMTeam, XviD, XviD-AFG, XviD-FUM, YIFY, You, Áudio

Show all tags